Sewer Maintenance Services

Main spray painting Storm Drain StencilThe Sanitary Engineering Division of Public Works currently operates in 38 communities, maintains more than 1,200 miles of sanitary sewers and 1,100 miles of storm sewers, operates 63 sewage-pumping stations, and maintains two wastewater treatment plants.

This division has agreements with municipal corporations such as Ohio Environmental Protection Agency (Ohio EPA), the Northeast Ohio Regional Sewer District (NEORSD), the City of Cleveland Division of Water, and the Cuyahoga County Board of Health for the establishment, operation, and maintenance of sanitary sewers and facilities.

Permits & License Requirements   City Service Maps and Annual Reports

Five Goals:

  1. Reduce the number of flooded basements by decreasing mainline blockage, minimize the infiltration and inflow of storm water in the sanitary system, and evaluate structural integrity of the entire sewer system;
  2. Operate wastewater treatment plants in compliance of National Pollution Discharge Elimination System (NPDES) permit parameters;
  3. Provide guidelines for new construction through use of Uniform Standards for Sewerage Improvements;
  4. Review and approve new improvement plans; and
  5. Provide infrastructure needs assessments for communities.

Municipalities interested in sewer maintenance services should contact:

Emergency Sewer Services
(216) 443-8201

Assessment and Wastewater Treatment Billing
(216) 443-8242

Permits & Inspection
(216) 443-8209
Fax (216) 443-8220